Please someone explain how this seems acceptable even with new matchmaking rules

So I’ve been playing only a few months so not sure how matchmaking used to be as it changed fairly soon after I started playing. I was doing fairly well (4 wins per 1 loss) and climbed the trophy count rather quickly until I was stalled (4 wins per 3 losses) and I attribute that to my trophy count being rather high for my level dinosaurs as I started encountering what I refer to as longevity winners (players who have played the game for a substantial amount of time compared to me and have significantly higher level dinosaurs and higher rarity dinosaurs with much better stat boosts and can usually one hit kill all but my highest health/shielded dinosaurs with one hit. They just have no grasp on strategy or how to play well, solely getting their wins on players who are actually skilled by using the complete advantage of overpowered strength through playing since day 1. I have added many of these players afterwards as a friend and challenged them with the same team at level 26 no boosts and massacre them every time. They are basically bottom ring players because they have no skill and just rewarded wins for having played a long time so Ludia can continue to make money off of them as if pitted against players their level with their level dinosaurs, there wins percentage would be incredibly low and thus deter them from playing and spending money. Well I got past this hump by getting past the 3000 trophy count and started playing against players a little more evenly matched. Though I was getting my first legendary and was still fighting against players using only legendary and unique dinosaurs and has been the case since. I’m currently around 3300 trophies and have gotten 3550 as my record and don’t have enough legendary dinosaurs to fill up my whole battle team and at nowhere near getting a unique yet the following battle just happened. So I’m at a loss as to how this was even a possibility