Random Questions and Help

Hey all,
It’s good to be back on here, I played JWA for the first year or so it was out, and then took some time away. I’ve been playing again for the past 2 months and its been exciting seeing the changes and growth that its undergone in my time away.

With that being said, I’ve got several random questions that I could use some help with. One of them might be a bug or a settings issues, one might just be a result of my ignorance, but any assistance with these would be appreciated.

A. I get push notifications for raids, which is exactly how I want it! However, when I follow the push notification for the raid, it will open the app and then do nothing. I don’t have a waiting notification to join the raid and I’ve missed out on many raids with high leveled teammates. I’m ranked 2nd in my current alliance, and have very few friends ranked higher than me (5000), so I really want to take advantage of those opportunities. Is this just a me problem, or is this universal?
Also, I see the opportunity for raids to be “public” or “private” when creating one. When I create a public raid and someone random is paired with me, is that process able to be reversed? Am I able to connect to a random raid? Insight would be very helpful!

B. Discord. As I said I’m ranked 2nd in my current alliance. In my old playing days I was in a great alliance where I was middle of the pack, but its really challenging to try to pursue end game when I have few friends higher than me, and only one alliance-mate as such. I see many alliances seeking application through Discord, but try as I may I can’t find any servers connected to JWA on there. I’ve never used Discord before, so I might just be ignorant, but is there a server for us out there? Or do you have any idea of what I might be doing wrong? I’d love to try to connect on there.