Ludia Forums

Rise of Berk - Detailed Review

A Detailed Review of Rise of Berk
I’ve been playing Rise of Berk for approximately 2 years now. I’ve been a Rider (paid subscription) for the majority of this time period. I’m finally going to put my analysis into words.

Who is this game for?
Audience: Anyone, but parents should ensure their phone is set up with purchase protection measures.
Accessibility: Colour-blind people and epileptics should be able to play this without an issue.
Requirements: A fairly modern phone is preferable.

Design: Fantastic
True to the media. The new designs and models canonically follow the universe and its themes. The UI is perfectly themed, the dragons are noticeably ‘HTTYD’, yet also somehow refreshingly new. It amazes me that there are 500+ original dragons with names that fit the universe and its core ideas.

Graphics: Good with a Catch
The models are modern and each dragon can be investigated closely from every angle. The shape, animation, and colours of the dragons are fluid and believable. However, a gripe I have with these higher poly count models is that the game will understandably become more demanding on the hardware. The map is getting larger, the amount of dragons you can have on Berk at one time increases with each update. However most mobile devices cannot handle this amount of assets on the screen at one time. I found, the more I progress, the more jagged my game becomes.
How Can This be Fixed?
We do NOT want assets to be removed. But if the quality could be optionally downscaled, that would fix a lot of problems. Most large 3D games have the option to change the quality of the models. This would be highly beneficial. This means that new players can still play at a normal quality, enjoying a smooth experience with smooth designs. But also allows older players, who have already been entranced by these designs, to still enjoy their game in a smoother capacity.

Music: Nostalgic but Repetitive